Rejection Pile Part 2



Here are some more. There are many rejections that I received also by email. Electronic submissions have become very common.

I have noticed, though, with electronic submissions that there are two categories of responses:

  1. Lightning Fast
  2. Those that couldn’t have been slower if they turned to the person next to them and said, “Hey, would you mind handing this to the next person you see until it reaches the address on the envelope.”

I’m convinced that this is how rejection letters were sent in the middle ages.

2 comments

  1. I’m impressed. I dont have a single rejection slip from 2008. Plenty of contest “thanks” but not a single rejection slip. That’s awful. I intend to do better in 2009.

  2. I was lucky. My goal in 2008 was to receive as many rejection slips as possible. (kidding)

    The secret was pushing the stories out and then resending them when they came back without doing much.

    This year, I’m going to spend more time in revision.

Leave a Reply

